Meet the Team

BSPD point of contact:

Dr Lindsay Shaw

Consultant Dermatologist

(To contact)

The BSPD Executive Committee:


Dr Paula Beattie- EADV Fellowship Coordinator

Dr Paula Beattie is a consultant Dermatologist and academic researcherin Paediatric Dermatology at the Royal Hospital for Sick Children, Glasgow.




Dr Carsten Flohr- Secretary

Prof Flohr is Chair in Dermatology and Population Science, Consultant Dermatologist and R&D Lead at St John’s Institute of Dermatology, King’s College London and Guy’s & St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust, where he directs the Population-Based Dermatology Research Unit. He is slso Specialty Lead for the South London National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Comprehensive Research Network.

Dr Fiona Browne- Treasurer

Dr Fiona Browne is a Consultant Dermatologist at Crumlin Children’s Hospital and Temple St Children’s Hospital, Dublin. She qualified in Medicine from Queen’s University Belfast in 2001 and trained in Dermatology in Leeds. She undertook a post CCT fellowship in Paediatric Dermatology at Birmingham Children’s Hospital where she then worked as Consultant from 2011 to 2015. She has a specialist interest in Epidermolysis Bullosa and Genodermatoses.

Dr Karolina Gholam

Dr Karolina Gholam is a Consultant Paediatric Dermatologist based at Great Ormond Street Hospital in London. Her areas of speciality are Inflammatory Dermatosis (including Eczema and Psoriasis), Birthmarks,  and Acne.


Dr Helen Googyear- Consultant Paediatrician Representative

Dr Helen Goodyear is a Consultant Paediatrician with a special interest in Paediatric Dermatology. Additionally, she has a strong interest in medical education. She is the Associate Postgraduate Dean in the West Midlands for LTFT training, careers and professional support and is Head of the School of Paediatrics.


Dr Andrew MacKenzie- Co-opted Website Manager

Dr Andrew MacKenzie is a Consultant Dermatologist in NHS Borders, being Clincal lead for the Dermatology Service. His other specialist interest is in Dermatological Surgery.




Tess photo
Dr Tess Mcpherson

Consultant Dermatologist and Senior Clinical Lecturer in charge of Paediatric Dermatology services in Oxford. Areas of interests: Adolescent Dermatology, Atopic Eczema, Acne, Psoriasis, Patient experiences of skin disease and Undergraduate education. Establishing a web resource (SKINS) for young adults with skin disease (

Dr Jemima Mellerio

Consultant Dermatologist at St John’s Institute of Dermatology since 2003. Expert in epidermolysis bullosa and other genodermatoses, as well as paediatric dermatology; lead for Paediatric and Genetic Dermatology at St John’s.  Also active research into genodermatoses and paediatric dermatology, including novel cellular therapies and ex vivo gene therapy.

Dr Ruth Murphy- Ex President

Dr Ruth Murphy is a consultant Dermatologist, having been president of the British Society of Paediatric Dermatology and is now president of the British Association of Dermatologists.



Dr Malobi Ogboli

Dr Malobi Ogboli is a Consultant Dermatologist at Birmingham Children’s Hospital.





Dr Lindsay Shaw- is President of the BSPD and Paediatric Dermatologists at Bristol’s Royal Infirmary

Dr Lea Solmon- Trainee Representative

Dr Lea Solman is a dermatology registrar in Chapel Allerton Hospital and was recently awarded the UK Dermatology Clinical Trial Network Fellowship.